Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Continuing Education Providers | Department of State (2024)

All health-related licensees/certificate holders and funeral directors are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (23 P.S. § 6311). Therefore, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license or certificate from any of the health-related boards (except the State Board of Veterinary Medicine) or from the State Board of Funeral Directors are required to complete, as a condition of licensure, 3 hours of training approved by the Department of Human Services (DHS) on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting.

As a condition of biennial renewal, you are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. If your license is close to expiration, we recommend that you check with the approved provider of your course to confirm the time-frame in which they plan to submit the results.

Continuing education results must be submitted electronically from the provider. This process can take up to seven days. If you have questions regarding the submission of the continuing education, please contact the approved provider directly before contacting the Board.

For more information on the mandatory reporting requirements, please read our FAQs.

ProviderApproved Number of HoursApproved for Continuing Education Credit for Professional LicenseesAudience Approved to TrainMethod of Delivery
Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline
PA Family Support Alliance3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline - 3 hour In-Person 3 and 6 hours available (Only 3 hours applicable)
PA Dental Association2 and 3YesDental
PA State Nurses Association2 and 3YesAny Health Related Licensee-Initial Application or Renewal

In-Person Or online at

PA Psychological Association2 and 3YesLicensed Psychologists, Nurses, Physicians and Mental Health Professionals

Home Study and In

Lehigh County Office of Children and Youth2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

J&K Seminars3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

In-Person, Live Webinar and Home Study

Bala Institute of Oral Surgery2YesDental Profession and Mandated and Permissive Reporters


PA Coalition Against Rape2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

PA Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics2 and 3YesPediatric and Family Medicine Primary Care Professionals and PA Hospital Employees

Cedar Crest College2YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

PSCP: The Psychology Network3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

Harrisburg Area Community College2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters

Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science2 and 3YesNew and Existing Licensees as Funeral Directors

NetCE3YesHealth Care Professional Seeking Licensure

Home Study and Online

Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association2YesPharmacists
ThePracticeMechanic 3YesMandatedandPermissive
E-Learning for Therapists, Inc.3YesMedical and Behavioral health serviceOnline
Three Rivers Adoption Council3YesMandated and Permissive
Wild Iris Medical Education Inc.2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters
West Chester University3YesPharmacist and Registered NurseIn Person
Relias LLC2 and 3YesMedical and Behavioral Health Service
​Salus University​2 and 3​Yes​PA Licensed Health Care Providers

​In PersonDr. Melissa

​Pennsylvania Medical Society​2 and 3​Yes​Physician Members of PAMEDOnline
​InforMed​2​Yes​Physicians and Health Care
​ Inc.​2 and 3​Yes​Mandated and Permissive Reporters​Online
Western PA Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery​3​YesDentists, Hygienists, dental assistants and dental receptionistsIn Person 724-223-0579
The Horsham Clinic3YesMandated ReportersIn Person
​ATrain Education, Inc.​3​Yes​Mandated Reporters​Online
​The Wise DC, Inc.​2​Yes​Chiropractors​Online
​PA Academy of General Dentistry2​YesDental Professionals

www.pagd.orgfor the live course schedule on-demand courses

​Villanova University Driscoll Hall​3​Yes​Healthcare Professionals​Online
​Pharmacist's Letter/Therapeutic Research Center​2​Yes​Pharmacists and Technicians​ Online
Got Your Back2YesMassage Therapist610-834-3992
Center for Excellence in Advocacy Support Center for Child Advocates3YesMandated and Permissive
Medbridge3YesOccupational and Physical Therapists, Speech-Language therapists, Pathologist, Audiologists and Athletic
PDH Academy2YesMandated and Permissive Reporters
NASW, Pennsylvania Chapter3yesLicensed Social Workers and Mandated ReportersIn Person
DHS University2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersIn Person
The Wright Center3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersIn Person or Online
Penn State College of Medicine3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline
Healthcare Training Institute2YesMandated and Permissive 317-348-0121
Last Minute CEU's2YesRespiratory
Continued2YesMandated and Permissive;
Nursing Continuing Education3YesRN, LPN, APRN

Workshops Express2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reporters


718-608-6000 TTY 718-701-0385

Healthcare Compliance Solutions, LLC2YesMandated and Permissive ReportersIn Person 724-924-0997
Central Reach

2 and 3


Intensive Behavioral Health Service Providers



Online Continuing ED, LLC3
YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline
UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh Child Advocacy Center2YesMedical StaffIn Person
Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia2YesMandated and Permissive Reporters
CypherWorx Inc3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline
Biologix Solutions2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive ReportersOnline 630-984-0093
WebCE2YesMandated and Permissive Reporters, Licensed Funeral
Postgraduate Healthcare Education, LLC3YesMandated and Permissive 800-825-4696
#1 Premiere CE

2 and 3


Mandated and Permissive Reporters
​Temple University School of Social Work
​Mandated and Permissive Reporters
​CE Zoom
​Health Related Professionals
​Online -
​Melissa Lucarelli
​Health Related Professionals

​Funeral Continuing Education
​ Mandated and Permissive Reporters 718-608-6000
​Jamaica Bay Community Developement


​Nurses and Medical Professionals​Online
#1 Accelerated CE's
​Mandated and Permissive Reporters
​The Massage Mentor Institute



Massage Therapists


​ Physicians, Physician Assistants, Nurses, Nurse Practitioners, Social Workers​Online:
​Mission Kids Child Advocacy Center of Montgomery County



Mandated Reporters as defined by the PA CPSL, 484-687-2990
Clym Environmental Services



Medical or Dental Professionals, 724-924-0048​
​Nursing CE Central



LPN, RN Advanced Practical Nurses
Colibri Healthcare LLC (was Elite)2 and 3YesMandated and Permissive Reports


HealthStream3YesHealthcare professionals/clinicians
Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Continuing Education Providers | Department of State (2024)


How long is PA Act 31 certification good for? ›

The “Child Abuse: Pennsylvania Mandated Reporter Training - License Renewal ” certificate is valid for four years. The “Child Abuse: Pennsylvania Mandated Reporter Training - Initial Licensure” certificate is a one-time requirement for initial licensure.

When must a LDSS 2221A form be filed in NYS? ›

Reports of suspected child abuse or maltreatment shall be made immediately by telephone and in writing within 48 hours after such oral report. Submit the written paper copy of the LDSS-2221A form originally signed to: the Local County Department of Social Services (LDSS) where the abused/maltreated child resides.

What should a mandated reporter do before reporting any allegations of abuse, neglect, Quizlet? ›

A mandated reporter should have clear and sufficient evidence before reporting any allegations of abuse or maltreatment/neglect. Any health care employee may take a child into protective custody. if a child discloses sexual abuse, be sure to interview the child thoroughly to obtain a detailed affidavit for court.

Where can I find my PA clearances? ›

Otherwise, to obtain a copy of your clearance certificate you may log in to your Child Welfare Account and go to the "PA Child Abuse History Clearance Account" screen. Here you may view submitted and / or processed applications.

What is the Act 31 requirement in PA? ›

​Act 31 of 2014 requires the health-related boards to complete 3 hours of approved training on child abuse recognition and reporting. All health-related licensees/certificate holders and funeral directors are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (23 P.S. § 6311).

How many hours of continuing education are required for license renewal in PA? ›

30 hours of continuing education required for licensure renewal.

How often is mandated reporter training required in NY? ›

The NYS Mandated Reporter Certificate is a one-time requirement for initial licensure.

What can CPS not do in NY? ›

Here is what CPS cannot do in New York:
  • Forcefully Enter Your Home: CPS cannot enter a home without permission unless they have obtained a court order.
  • Compel an Individual to Take a Drug Test: CPS can request that an individual undergo a drug test, but they can only require a parent to do so with a court order.
Jul 7, 2023

What is not considered a mandated reporter? ›

If your paid job duties require you to directly supervise children, you are a mandated reporter. Otherwise, you are not. Volunteers at DV programs are never mandated reporters, this includes volunteers whose regular, paid work does make them mandated reporters.

What is failing to report abuse a mandatory reporter could be found guilty of? ›

A person who fails to make a required report is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine (California Penal Code Section 11166[c]).

Who is a mandated reporter required to report abuse to under Canra? ›

Mandated Reporters must report observed or suspected child abuse or neglect to agencies designated to receive such reports. These include local police and sheriff's departments, UC Police Department, and child protective services or county welfare departments.

What is Act 151 in PA? ›

ACT 151. Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance. To complete the online PA Child Abuse History Clearance you will need to have internet access, printer, credit/debit card, email account, knowledge of previous addresses since 1975 and names of everyone you have lived with at any time since 1975.

What are the 3 PA clearances? ›

The required clearances may include:
  • Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance.
  • Pennsylvania State Police Criminal History Clearance.
  • Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Criminal History Clearance (required for all employees and some volunteers)

How do I get my act 33 clearance in PA? ›

Carefully review the following information:
  1. Go to and select Create Individual Account.
  2. Select Login.
  3. Select Access My Clearances.
  4. Agree to the Terms and Conditions.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Continue.
  6. Select Create Clearance Application.
  7. a.

How long is Act 33 clearance good for in PA? ›

In order to comply with Pennsylvania legislation (ACT 153), your position requires that you secure a new Act 33 Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance every 60 months.

How long is a PA life insurance license good for? ›

Act 147 of 2002, effective June 4, 2003, requires licensed insurance producers to complete continuing education credits to maintain their license. Failure to complete the minimum 24-hour requirement during your two-year licensing cycle will result in the voluntary termination of your license.

How often do you need mandated reporter training in PA? ›

Those who are working with minors, known as PA Mandated Reporters, must take the training prior to working with children and annually thereafter.

How long is a temporary practice permit good for in PA? ›

The temporary practice permit will expire in 1 year, unless the individual fails the licensure examination, in which case the temporary practice permit will immediately expire. The Board may extend the temporary practice permit in cases of illness or extreme hardship, as set forth in paragraph (5).


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Virgilio Hermann JD

Last Updated:

Views: 5765

Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Virgilio Hermann JD

Birthday: 1997-12-21

Address: 6946 Schoen Cove, Sipesshire, MO 55944

Phone: +3763365785260

Job: Accounting Engineer

Hobby: Web surfing, Rafting, Dowsing, Stand-up comedy, Ghost hunting, Swimming, Amateur radio

Introduction: My name is Virgilio Hermann JD, I am a fine, gifted, beautiful, encouraging, kind, talented, zealous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.